Lights, Camera, Action

I’m happy to finally have this blog up and this study started. Plus, Mark 1 and 2 is a great way to start!

 

After I read through the first two Chapters in NIV I checked them out in The Message translation. I loved what the Message said in Chapter 1 v.7 “The real action comes next…” Think about that. Could there be a more fitting intro for the King of Kings? I know that the real action started in my life when I He was ‘announced’ to me and it hasn’t stopped yet (despite the fact that more often than not I am praying that the action will slow the heck down). 

 

It didn’t slow down in these passages either! I loved that the “action” in the first two Chapters included one miracle after another. As soon as He showed up on the scene so to speak, He began to reveal His power and His glory to everyone. Isn’t that exactly how it is when He shows up for in the “lonely places” (v.45) of our lives? 

 

The verse that stood out the most for me was 1:11, when Jesus is baptized. I had never read this verse in the Message before and it is fantastic: 

 

“You are my Son, chosen and marked by my love, pride of my life”. 

 

I don’t think that it is a coincidence that this is said immediately after Jesus submits to John’s baptism. I love what this says about God’s love for us. It leaves me breathless to think that the God of the universe has marked me with His love. He has chosen me. When I am obedient to His will and submit to His process I am the pride of His life. That is more than I can even begin to fathom. 

 

COMMENTS MOVED FROM OLD HOST SITE:

 

 

4 Comments

Filed under Bible, blog, christianity, church, faith, inspiration, Uncategorized

4 responses to “Lights, Camera, Action

  1. Nicole Wick

    Jesse
    Something that has always amazed me in the gospels is the calling of the disciples – how they just dropped everything to follow Jesus. There they were right in the middle of the working day. I often question myself: would I have said to Him, “OK, just wait till I get these nets in”? So often I have a skewed idea of what is really important; it is so much easier to see it from a worldly perspective rather than a spiritual one. It takes more effort and discipline to recognize that the fish are only fish.
    Saturday, April 25, 2009 – 07:37 PM

  2. Nicole Wick

    Katy
    I love that time and time again Jesus does things that is against the status quo because it is the right thing to do. He doesn’t care about the rules men have made but what needs to be done. He doesn’t avoid the “sinners” because they’re unclean but sits with them and eats with them sharing God’s love and message. I think in our lives it’s easy to judge and snub people because of decisions they made that maybe weren’t right in the end but we need to embrace them and talk about a different path available in all our lives.
    Saturday, April 25, 2009 – 08:32 PM

  3. Nicole Wick

    RevDHW
    I love “present tense” of Mark, and the constant action. The style encapsulates the essence of life in Christ — its urgency, vitality, adventure.
    Saturday, April 25, 2009 – 09:17 PM

  4. Nicole Wick

    Anonymous
    Couple thoughts that came to mine on this. How Jesus came under submition to John The Baptist. The Son of God submitted. He humbled himself “God” in the flesh to another human. It is the one of the many times Jesus submitted before he paid the ultimate submition on the cross. I believe that is one if not the only reason God sent his Son to die on the cross…was not only show his unfailing love for his children, also submition is the “action” of love. Submit’s true definition is to “Come under and lift up”. I strive to submit to people everyday… fail often but my heart longs for that.
    Second thought is at tha that time was the first time the Triune God “Trinity” were together on earth at the same time. “Fell on Jesus” “Like a dove”. One element of the Trinity I seek is the Holy Spirit. He is our counsler and Friend. He guides us daily. I look at like this God the father is Love. He omni-present, Omni-patient. He is all Knowing. He is the Head. Jesus is the inherent Son. Who ever denys his Son his inheritence. I seek the Holy spirit for wisdom on a daily basis. God is like the Head, Jesus is like the Arms and Holy Spirit is like the Feet. All are different in function, but all have their part in one Body. Mark 21-28 Jesus Cast out Demons. Basically at that point Satan wanted the Mass of people to follow Him for what he did hence “SILENT”. Jesus was silencing the demons with his authority and to show people the authority over the demonic relm. Have the people follow him for who he is and not for what he does. In my life I try to minister not for selfish gain but to minister with a unselfish heart. Not to brag about people being saved or healed. Brag about the Lord and HIS works!!
    Mark 2: 22 on of my favorite encouters with Religion. When Jesus said you don’t put New wine in Old Winskins. He was referring to pharasees or our heart. If we look at our faith in Jesus with a religous Faith instead of childlike faith. Completely in love of Jesus. It’s like taking New wine and putting it into Old Wineskin. God’s river is ever flowing. I can take my faith in Jesus and be critical of people with valid worldy reasons. Or I can submit, Lift up in Love, encourage and NOT break relationship. Be that NEW Wineskin and allow Hevanly Father, Jesus and the HOLY SPIRIT be the NEW Wine. Together we “can bear MUCH fruit”.
    Saturday, April 25, 2009 – 03:07 PM

Leave a Reply

