The Power of Jesus

Think you for all of your great comments yesterday. I learned from everyone’s insights and would like to see more! Please forward the blog information on to anyone who may be interested. 

 

MARK 3-5

 

I don’t have a ‘life verse’ per say. I know many people who do but I have never been able to pick one verse that encapsulates all that I live out in God. I do have three verses that I use as guideposts for my faith and that I use for daily reflection:

 

Exodus 33:11 (My RELATIONSHIP verse) Reminds me that when I come daily into a ‘place’ of meeting with God he is there, alive, inviting me into a personal conversation with Him, face to face like a friend not distant like a god. He is always available, He knows me, He longs to connect with me and make His presence known to me.

 

1 Samuel 2:19 (My OBEDIENCE verse) Reminds me that I have committed myself to complete, sacrificial obedience to the One who calls me. As a mom, I know that Hannah longed for Samuel as she carefully made him a little robe each year but she did not question the will of God, but obediently gave Him what was his with prayer and rejoicing even when it hurt.

 

Mark 5:27-28 (My FAITH verse) Reminds me that the magnitude of my faith is inline with the magnitude of my calling when I am in a desperate pursuit of Jesus. 

 

I love the mental picture of v.27, 28 “When she heard about Jesus, she came up behind him in the crowd and touched his cloak, because she thought “If I just touch his clothes I will be healed”. When I am feeling lost, desperate, alone, hopeless or helpless I remind myself that if I press through whatever is crowding me out and can get close enough just to touch the very tip of the hem of his garment He will call me out of the crowd and restore me. What is most amazing is that He will use me as an instrument for revealing His glory when I publicly seek Him out. He is the source of my healing and restoration. 

I’m hoping that some of you bible scholars can leave some teaching comments about his cloak, tassels, healing wings, etc. (David Hutzko preached a great message on Mark 5:21-43 some time ago at Warren Woods Church of the Nazarene. Check the site for the recording if it is still available http://www.wwnazarene.org/). Also, if you have a life verse, or guide verses share them in the comments. I would love to hear them. 

ALL COMMENTS HAVE BEEN MOVED FROM OLD SITE
7 Comments

Filed under Bible, blog, christianity, church, faith, inspiration, Uncategorized

7 responses to “The Power of Jesus

  1. Nicole Wick

    Katy
    I feel these chapters are more about having Faith than anything. The parables talk about having strong faith with deep roots so that it cannot be taken away, dried up, or choked out. Then we are told about the woman who was healed by merely touching Jesus’ clothes because she had Faith. Through Faith all things are possible
    Sunday, April 26, 2009 – 11:42 AM

  2. Anonymous

    EMOORE
    Jesus was always getting opposition with the Pharisees. AKA Religion. The meaning of this story is “Doing good work on the Sabbath”. The Pharisee tried to catch Jesus doing work on the Sabbath so they could try him against the law. How often to we as Christians try to put religion against what God has really placed ion our lives. Critical thinking of people or just following rules and regulations instead of ministering to his children. Or maybe following and religion instead of following His will. It’s a battle not just on His children… it’d the battle going on with the body of believers. Look at the sin and not the sinner. When Jesus told Peter “back away Satan” he wasn’t talking to Peter. He was talking to Satan trying to tempt Jesus off the cross. I encourage people to repent for the spirit of religion and ask for the spirit of relationship with Christ. It’s not religion or even Church that saves, its Christ and only Christ that’s saves. So we should have the mind of Christ and look at not the law but Love, because God isn’t described as love he IS Love! That why Jesus healed on the Sabbath, because He Loved and Loves all people.
    Fear and anxiety were two issues in my life that plagued me for years. I was delivered from those last year. I believe in healing and deliverance prayers…trust me on that. There are some things that I believe are subtle religious thinking that cause Storms in our lives. We try prayer, deliverance seminars, ect… To me it was evident that my prays and actions were selfish. I believe to calm storms in our lives we need to repent for the Storms we create in our lives. We need to trust in Jesus to calm our Storms. Repentance is key to our freedom. No prayer or healing from any storm in our lives will occur until we humble our selves before the Lord and repent for our sins. No Hail Mary, Our Father or Long Winded Prayer. I ask the Holy Spirit often to reveal my sins and can’t believe some of the things that come up. Offenses, Actions, Words, Created Storms or even Body Language that my have broken relationship with people. I have asked people forgiveness and they are thoroughly shocked because they were not offended. It’s also important to prevent Storms. It is ALL about Faith in Him!!!!
    Sunday, April 26, 2009 – 02:17 PM

  3. Anonymous

    Mike
    I do have a life verse that keeps me in check when ever I question whether I am following the correct path. “Ecc. 1:14 I have seen all the works which have been done under the sun, and behold, all is vanity and striving after wind.” If there is no God than this is all I have to look forward to. It seems fairly empty. If I believe God will look after me I don’t have to chase after meaningless works. It’s a nice double edged verse. Have a wonderful day and keep up the cyber-crusade.
    Sunday, April 26, 2009 – 08:19 PM

  4. Anonymous

    Kim T
    The life verse that immediately comes to mind is Jeremiah 29:11 – “For I know the plans I have for you,” says the Lord. “Plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you a hope and a future.” My other verse to live by is Philippians 4:13 – “I can do everything through Him who gives me strength.”
    Sunday, April 26, 2009 – 08:20 PM

  5. Anonymous

    RevDHW
    Mark 3:20 – 21 — When Jesus was so pressed He couldn’t even find time to eat, His family concluded He must have been insane.
    “Normal” people are sooner or later going to view radical commitment to Christ as insane. This does not mean that you have to be insane to be radically committed to Jesus. On the contrary. The lunatic asylum is everywhere but where Jesus is. To the inmates, sanity looks insane.
    Sunday, April 26, 2009 – 08:26 PM

  6. Anonymous

    Anonymous
    I love the parable of the sower. Oh, how I want to sow in good soil, hear the word, accept it and lead my life according to God. Although I admit there are times that I don’t do as I should and don’t plant the knowledge that I have. May God continue to work in me so that I will be more fruitful.
    Sunday, April 26, 2009 – 09:58 PM

  7. Anonymous

    Jesse
    There is a lot in these 3 chapters. Some of these events are related in that they show the different ways we react to Jesus. The parable of the sower does this the most clearly, but the different reactions of the people Jesus encounters do so too. The Pharisees watch him heal a man miraculously and their response, instead of rejoicing, is to immediately start plotting to kill him because they perceive him (rightly) as a threat to their way of life. The Gerasenes see him cast a legion of demons out of a man who has been hopelessly afflicted for a long time and their response is to ask him to leave their country. (My study bible notes they they may have reacted this way either because of the loss of the swine or because they were frightened by his power – or both.) On the other hand, the woman with the hemorrhage sees him as her only hope – she responds immediately with unquestioning faith. And the possessed Gerasene man responds by first begging to be allowed to travel with Jesus, then, when Jesus tells him to go home and tell his story, he responds at once with obedience. I find a real challenge in these chapters. Often commitment to Christ is scary. It IS a threat to my natural way of life. It really could entail the loss of my herd of swine. But at the same time I’ve learned that, like the hemorrhaging woman, Jesus really is my only hope and that obedience to him is pretty much its own reward.

    I’ve always felt that the healing of the man with the withered hand and the homicidal reaction of the Pharisees is one of the saddest stories in the Bible. It’s disturbing that in our natural state we’re so locked into ourselves that we can miss the miracle right in front of us.
    Sunday, April 26, 2009 – 10:35 PM

Leave a Reply

