Glory and Honor?

Mark 6 1:6

 

    1 Jesus left there and went to his hometown, accompanied by his disciples. 2 When the Sabbath came, he began to teach in the synagogue, and many who heard him were amazed.

     “Where did this man get these things?” they asked. “What’s this wisdom that’s been given him, that he even does miracles! 3 Isn’t this Mary’s son and the brother of James, Joseph, Judas and Simon? Aren’t his sisters here with us?” And they took offense with him.

    Jesus said to them, “Only in his hometown, among his relatives and in his own house is a prophet without honor.” He could not do any miracles there, except lay hands on a few sick people and heal them. And he was amazed at their lack of faith. (NIV)


I recently listened to a David Nasser message and he was recounting this spree of miracles that Jesus was on during the beginning of his public ministry. He said that people started freaking out about Jesus when they saw Him doing some seriously freaky things. So far in this book it has been non-stop signs and wonders, one after the other – a traveling freak show if you will. 


How could you not believe if you saw him heal the lame, give sight to the blind, raise the dead, drive out demons, cleanse the unclean and calm the sea? So when I read v.1-6 my initial thought was ‘Come on people, are you kidding me?” But really, when I think about it, their attitudes are far closer to mine than I would like to admit. If Jesus were to actually show up on the scene and raise my dear Aunt Betty from the grave I would have an absolute heart attack. How many others in the church (His home turf) would be having heart attacks right along with me? My bet would be most (I’ve been to lots of church pot lucks and nothing even near as exciting as water to wine has EVER happened). So, if I don’t expect Him to walk on water will he?


Here’s where it can potentially get really sad. When we, the home crowd, are not expecting a miraculous encounter with the living God we aren’t going to get one. We may receive a few acts of mercy (v.5) but nothing that even compares to the signs and wonders that He demonstrates when we ask and have faith to believe. And what is the result of this shallow faith? Those around me, who know me and may not know Him, are watching and waiting for the signs and wonders that I don’t have the faith to claim. And when all they see are routine, mundane words and deeds they may easily take offense to Him (v.3) and my God is amazed by my lack of faith.


Check out the ‘What Do I Know of Holy’ by Addison Road. I love this song and share it as a prayer that we, the church, would recognize how little we really know of Holy. That we would acknowledge the limits of our faith and would begin to ask, no beg, the One who spoke us into motion to do mighty, awesome, freaky things in our midst. Even more I pray that we will have so much faith that we actually expect to see them.


ALL COMMENTS HAVE BEEN MOVED FROM THE OLD HOST SITE

 

 

 

 

4 Comments

Filed under Bible, blog, christianity, church, faith, inspiration, Uncategorized

4 responses to “Glory and Honor?

  1. Anonymous

    Katy
    I took away a few thoughts from this passage: 1) at the begining it is pointed out that Jesus’ family and friends were the most doubtful and lacked faith. which goes to show that we have such a hard time believing in miracles even when they’re right in our faces especially when it involves people we know.Miracles could be happening everyday and we would pass them off with weak explanations rather than face the truth and pass on the proof of the almighty. So here the lesson continues about having Faith.
    2) The other thought I came away with is to think about the actions we take in our daily lives trying to abide by Gods words. There are a lot of teachings out there that are man made not handed down by God. Some of these teachings actually take away from what God would really have us doing. This goes to show how important it is for us to participate in bible studies and reading on our own to know what God wants us to do.
    Monday, April 27, 2009 – 10:20 AM

  2. Anonymous

    EMOORE
    4 Jesus said to them, “Only in his hometown, among his relatives and in his own house is a prophet without honor.” 5 He could not do any miracles there, except lay hands on a few sick people and heal them. 6 And he was amazed at their lack of faith.
    I think unfortunately His hometown looked at him as Jesus the man instead of Jesus the Son Of God. I think that happens in todays society as well. We look at Jesus the Man instead of who He is. We look at and worship Him the savior AKA “get of jail free card” and go on our marry way. The question I ask myself over and over again. Am I sold out, madly in love, submitting all thing in Christ? Do I trust in him with my whole heart or is he my “Crutch”?

    Psalm 37: 3-4
    3.Trust in the LORD and do good; dwell in the land and enjoy safe pasture.
    4.Delight yourself in the LORD and he will give you the desires of your heart.

    I try to take this approach in my Walk. Trust, Do good, Dwell, Delight in the lord with my heart. I believe then and only then can God trust me with the desires of my heart.

    I put myself in their shoes who were the relatives of Jesus. I would have reacted the same way. The person I knew intimately from a worldly perspective. I would have had a hard time looking at Him from a submissive perspective. I have a similar situation in my life right now. I get my heaviest pursecution from my own biological family. I mention one thing about Christ I get “Backlash”. They know my past and can’t possibly see through that unless they have Christ in them. It is unfair for me to expect them to love me in a Christ-Like manner if Christ doesn’t live in their heart. My Heavenly Father sees through my past and your as well.
    Monday, April 27, 2009 – 01:39 PM

  3. Anonymous

    RevDHW
    I preached on the miracle of the loves (in John’s Gospel) yesterday. Incidentally, I discovered that in Roman times, people routinely ate up to two pounds of bread a day! That’s a lot of bread, much more than we think of as necessary, since we eat so many others things and bread is almost like a garnish. “Where are we going to get 5 tons of bread?” was a BIG question.
    All Jesus needed was for them to offer up what they had, and He took care of the rest. The disciples were thinking: “Where are we going to get enough so everyone can have a little?” Jesus supplied enough so that everyone could have as much as they want, with some left over.
    I believe God still works this way today. Our problem (my problem too) is that I fail to trust HIm enough to offer up to him my five loaves and two fish.
    Monday, April 27, 2009 – 03:35 PM

  4. Anonymous

    Jesse
    The loaves & fishes and the walking on water both remind me of how God meets me not halfway but 99%-way. If I offer my five loaves God provides the rest. I don’t walk on water, but if I keep my eyes fixed on Jesus I can take at least one step. It reminds me of Prov. 3:5-6; God has all the power, not me, and He can do things that I can’t even imagine.
    Monday, April 27, 2009 – 09:48 PM

Leave a Reply

