What Do I Have to Offer?

As I read through the passages today the theme of offerings really stood out to me. In these three chapters Jesus gives three very clear examples of what we should be offering to God.

 

Mark 10:21 Jesus looked at him and loved him. “One thing you lack,” He said, “Go, sell everything you have and give to the poor, and you will have treasure in heaven. Then come follow me.” In this verse a man who is a follower of the commandments and who Jesus looks on with love is told that he must sacrifice everything he has in order to inherit eternal life. Upon hearing that he has to offer all of his earthly treasure in order to gain treasures in heaven his face fell and he went away sad. I wonder if he later regretted his decision.

 

Sometimes it’s really easy for me to get caught up in following the rules. If I can check off everything on my ‘Good Girl’ list I assume that I am pleasing God. This verse reminds me that God wants so much more form me. He wants me to offer all that I have without reservation, no looking back. I need to challenge myself to give all that I have and all that I am without regret. I can admit that I’m not there yet.

 

Mark 12:33 To love him with all your heart, with all your understanding and with all your strength, and to love your neighbor as yourself is more important than all the burnt offerings and sacrifices. If my ambition is to experience the kingdom of God I am closest when I am putting the interests of God and others before myself. I am commanded to give myself (my time, my resources, my attention) to God and my neighbor as an offering more pleasing than any other. I’m not there yet either (and am sensing a pattern).

Mark 12:42 But a poor widow came and put in two very small copper coins, worth only a fraction of a penny. Calling his disciples to him, Jesus said, “I tell you the truth, this poor widow has put more into the treasury than all the others. They gave out of their wealth; but she, out of her poverty, put in everything – all she had to live on.” Here’s what I know, whenever Jesus starts by saying he’s going to tell me the truth I know that I’m going to be in for it. If I truly want to please God I need to give him more than I can afford to give. I need to give my entire life for His will. Yikes. 

 

Needless to say I am not there yet either. But I can say that I am continually striving to make my life a sacrificial offering and am continually praying that he will help me to release the grip that I have on myself and learn to let go.

ALL COMMENTS HAVE BEEN MOVED FROM THE OLD HOST SITE
5 Comments

Filed under Bible, blog, christianity, church, faith, inspiration, Uncategorized

5 responses to “What Do I Have to Offer?

  1. Anonymous

    Katy
    Jesus mentions again in this passage about putting yourself last and becoming a servant in order to lead. These are things we can take with us everyday. Even in this day and age the best leaders, managers, supervisors are the ones who have worked their way up through the ranks. I think Jesus is telling us not to put ourselves on pedestals as christians but to stay true to the word and make sure we are spreading his word to all people not just amongst ourselves. We also need to make sure we are not turning our faith into a competition, to often we use our good deeds to impress others rather than doing good deeds to pass along the good news.
    Wednesday, April 29, 2009 – 10:05 AM

  2. Anonymous

    EMOORE
    It’s interesting in all three verses Jesus talked about giving everything. He also talked about our Hearts, Loving, Understanding… he used All. The Poor Widow gave little but it was evrything thing she had. Think about that in our christian lives today. Jesus never said give 99.9%. I love the verse “It’s better to give than to scrafice”. In these verses Jesus never referred to Sacraficing Everything. If we “Give” everything it’s not a sacrafice. God is longing for ALL of us not a portion. Work, Marriage, Relationships, Parenting, Prayer, Worship ect.. It’s not about being a good person, that occurs when we give our “All” to God. We should strive everyday in every decision to offer it all to God. 100%.
    Wednesday, April 29, 2009 – 01:34 PM

  3. Anonymous

    Jesse
    For many years I used the passage in ch. 10 on the rich young ruler to judge others. I assumed that since I didn’t have Bill Gates’ money, or even as much as the yuppie in the BMW in the lane next to me on his flip phone (when flip phones were new) I must not be rich. And when it comes to fiscal policy, my politics tend to the left. So surely I’m not one of THOSE people. It wasn’t until I did my 4th step in AA that I really looked honestly at how privileged I am. I had an elite private-school education and all sorts of opportunities that most people only dream about. Even beyond that, pretty much anyone living in America right now is rich by the standards of Jesus’ day. I’d make a fair bet that my standard of living is as good as, maybe better than, that of whoever was emperor of Rome at the time. I have central heat and air conditioning, for starters. So in the grand scheme of things, I’m forced to admit that I AM in the rich young ruler’s class. I found this very humbling. It forced me to deal with just how big an idol money had become for me, even though I often didn’t have any. God has really worked with me over the past few years on my relationship with money, and my attitude towards it has changed a great deal. I think most of us in the U.S. need to look at how our “stuff’ gets in the way of our walk. I know it’s a struggle for me.
    Wednesday, April 29, 2009 – 09:01 PM

  4. Anonymous

    EMOORE 2
    Jesse I was touched by your Transparency. Thanks so much. I agree with what you said. Money is so much an idol. Great word!!!
    Thursday, April 30, 2009 – 08:04 AM

  5. Anonymous

    Jennifer
    I have come to realize that I don’t give my “100%” to God. I need to work towards being more like the poor widower. God gave up everything for me and yet I at times don’t or can’t seem to find the time to honor and praise Him.
    Thursday, April 30, 2009 – 09:06 AM

Leave a Reply

