Charting the Course

I do not travel well, especially by car. I like to get where I need to be fast and with out much inconvenience. My husband marvels at how far I can drive with out taking a break and has learned over the years to avoid large amounts of coffee before any trip with me because I am almost guaranteed NOT to stop. 

 

When I was a kid we would do lots of summer road trips to what I believed were far off places. Places like Traverse City, Evanston and Morton’s Gap, Kentucky. One of my favorite things to do on those trips, long before Garmin had been invented, was to track our route on a AAA Trip-Tic. I loved the Trip-Tic. I knew that every time I had to turn the page we were a little bit closer to getting there. I always insisted on holding the trip map and on being the page turner (thus proving that I have always been an impatient little control freak.) Even now I prefer a road atlas to any GPS system because holding the trip map equals control for me, it’s about being able to chart my own course and measure my progress.

 

With that in mind a few verses stood out to me from today’s readings. 

 

Matthew 2:1 After Jesus was born in Bethlehem in Judea, during the time of King Herod, Magi from the east came to Jerusalem and Matthew 2:9,10 9 After they had heard the King, they went on their way, and the star they had seen when it rose went ahead of them until it stopped over the place where the child was. 10 When they saw the star they were overjoyed.

In these verses we have a group of guys, most likely astrologers, who dropped all they were doing to follow what amounts to a hunch that the new, glaringly bright star in the West signified the birth of a king. Can you imagine leaving everything you own to go on a two year journey through the desert in the hope that what you are seeing is the sign you have been waiting for? 

 

These men were experts on the night sky and probably had more maps and charts than I could count. My bet is that had they needed to get to Jerusalem they could have found it with the materials they already had on hand. After all charting the sky was part of their life’s work. Yet God gave them a sign that the time had come to start their journey. And even though they had enough maps to manage their own trip God continued to provide a star to chart their course, track their progress, and mark their destination. Despite two years of changing, seasonal constellations, the star that God provided to shine light on them remained consistent and steady in the evening sky guiding them and they watched it overjoyed. 

 

I have a lot of charts and maps in my life. There are a lot of things on hand, that I have created for my own use as I try control my journey and chart my own course. Yet God continues to offer a consistent sign to remind me that the trip has already been planned for me, all I need to do is put down my own maps and follow it. Every night, through out all the seasons and changes of my life, my light steadily shines for me and when I see it I am overjoyed.

ALL COMMENTS HAVE BEEN MOVED FORM OLD HOST SITE
2 Comments

Filed under Bible, blog, christianity, church, faith, inspiration, Uncategorized

2 responses to “Charting the Course

  1. Anonymous

    Katy
    How many of us would pack up our families and move them because an angel appeared to us in a dream? Can you imagine the fear Joseph felt when he heard Herod was killing babies hoping one of them was the king of the Jews? Several times Joseph was asked to follow God’s path for him and each time Joseph followed the plans the angels relayed to him in dreams. The men following the stars also followed the directions of an angel in a dream when they took a different path home. God has a path for each of us to follow we just need to read the map and follow the directions. It’s all maped out in the good book we just need to take a look.
    Saturday, May 2, 2009 – 08:04 PM

  2. Anonymous

    Jesse
    I was paying special attention to Joseph as I was reading the second chapter. Having done some research on Middle Eastern cultures, I can tell you that the two cornerstones of that culture are (1) female chastity and (2) extended kinship networks. The Lord effectively asked Joseph to throw that to the winds. First he has to go ahead with the marriage to a pregnant fiance – I don’t think we can even begin to imagine the social sanction against this, except among people who actually believed it was by the Holy Spirit, which I would guess were not everybody. Then Joseph has to chuck everything and pack off to Egypt, and when he gets to come back he can’t settle in Judea but has to go up to Nazareth. In the Middle East life is about your family network in the village you come from. Joseph basically had to walk away from that and go on his own with his young wife and new baby. Scary stuff. What a great model of faith and obedience.
    Saturday, May 2, 2009 – 10:07 PM

Leave a Reply

