Is He Enough for Me

I am a wired girl. I love my technology and aspire to be a tech-nerd when I grow up. During most waking hours I have one or more of the following items going; email (both work and personal), BlackBerry, laptop, Facebook, Twitter, iPod, this blog,  TV, DVR, phone, text…you get the picture. I love people and I love being connected to people. A lot.

 

Over Christmas we went on a family vacation and I forced myself to turn off everything but the cell phone for a week. I worked through the typical stages of the withdrawal process and was able to relax and keep my focus on my family. When I got back that Monday I had 287 emails (actual number) in my inbox so evidently I’m not the only one who likes to be connected.

 

With my obsessive need for all of my fun little tech bits in mind one verse from today’s chapters really drew me in: 

 

Matthew 4:2 After fasting forty days and forty nights, he was hungry.

 

Can you imagine what it would do for us spiritually if we were to unplug for forty days and forty night and withdraw, alone, to a quite place. How would we change if we were hidden away with God and His word, with out distraction for 40 days allowing Him in to meet both our physical and spiritual needs? 

 

My bet is that we would experience the kind of spiritual transformation that would give us the freedom to: trust God with out physical needs and circumstances (v. 4); surrender ourselves to Him with blind faith – the kind of faith that does not rely on tests, bribes or bargains (v. 7); and to submit our wills and ambitions to Him acknowledging Him as God over every aspect of our life (v. 10).

We have already determined that I can not fast on the world for forty days (Read post dated 05/01/09 for more on my shameful American Idol addiction). Which begs the question: is Jesus enough for me? 

 

Most days he is but there are days when I feel like I need more of something…mostly more of Him. Today I am praying that I will know that He is more than enough for me and that I will trust Him to provide every need. I will look for opportunities to leave my ‘stuff’ behind and go into a secret place, alone with God, so I can can my fill of the the one, true connection that I really need.

4 Comments

Filed under Bible, blog, christianity, church, faith, inspiration, Uncategorized

4 responses to “Is He Enough for Me

  1. Anonymous

    Nancy
    I can’t imagine “unplugging.” I would struggle without my blackberry, tv, etc. But I also can’t imagine the immediate obedience that Simon Peter and Andrew and James and John showed. All Jesus said was “Come, follow me.” and AT ONCE they left their nets and famiiy and follwed Jesus. No questions… not where, why, how long? The next time I am asked to help at church, I am not sure I should pull out the blackberry to check my schedule….
    Sunday, May 3, 2009 – 07:26 PM

  2. Anonymous

    Jesse
    Chapter 3, vv. 7-10 is a passage those of us who have been brought up in the church need to pay attention to. I can’t, because I was raised in a “Christian home,” say that I have Abraham for a father. God can populate himself a new church anytime he cares to. I came to a crossroads in life where I had to ask myself whether I was a viper, fleeing the wrath to come, or whether I was truly desiring God. The command is clear: bring forth fruit in keeping with repentance. The kind of faith that just is looking to meet some minimum fire insurance requirement is not really faith at all, I don’t think, as it looks in the Gospels. I found this particular passage very convicting. Religion is a great temptation. I think it’s Satan’s cleverest ruse. I pray often for God to bring my desires in line with His will and for His Spirit to work in my life to bear fruit.

    Chapter 4, verse 2 always seemed to me to be the most obvious verse in scripture: after fasting 40 days and nights, he was hungry. No, really?! But I think this is included to remind us of Jesus’ complete humanity. It’s easy to forget, in light of all the miracles and such, that Jesus was made of the same stuff as us, and that his power came from the Father, just as ours can. He didn’t just whip off a forty day fast like it was nothing – he really felt every pang of hunger just like I would.
    Sunday, May 3, 2009 – 07:42 PM

  3. Anonymous

    Nicole
    Here is an interesting TIME article about the use of Twitter in church. http://tinyurl.com/c4o6jm I’m not sure that I’m young and hip enough to do it but I do love the idea of integrated social networking. Even if I don’t feel inclined (or lead if you will) to whip out the Blackberry and tweet in church I love the idea that I could. Afterball, it does pain me to lock my baby in my pure for 90+ minuets…she gets cold and lonely in there! I did mention that I’m addicted to my tech toys right? In other news: Am considering naming my Mac as it really is true love.

    In all seriousness, thanks for continuing to read the blog! What a blessing.
    Sunday, May 3, 2009 – 09:01 PM

  4. Anonymous

    Katy
    I was drawn to Matthew 4:7 where Jesus and Satan are going back and forth and Satan just dared Jesus to jump off the temple roof because scripture says God would send angels to protect him so that his feet wouldn’t touch the ground. Jesus replies that the scriptures also says not to test God. I’ve had this type of conversation many times in my life when conversing with non-believers. It stood out to me that Jesus had this conversation with satan and I’ve this converstion with people in this day and age. Very interesting.
    Sunday, May 3, 2009 – 09:42 PM

Leave a Reply

