Clearing Some Time

I’m a wife and mom of three kids ages 17, 7, and 6. I also work full time at a rather demanding job and am a part time grad student. Between household responsibilities, work responsibilities, my travel schedule, class schedule, and school assignments I am booked solid. I thought about cutting and pasting a snapshot of my weekly schedule from my iCal but I didn’t want to scare anyone. In addition to my schedule we need to work in activities like, cheerleading, Cub Scouts, church stuff, Daisy Girl Scouts, and any other family event that comes our way. At the end of a long day I am exhausted. At the end of a long week I am especially exhausted. I hate to admit it but I often find myself so over booked that I forget to make time for God. If I had posted a view of my iCal you would see that none of my appointment slots are filled by Jesus. So, can I honestly say that I am completely devoting myself to Him and His calling when I’m not even carving out enough time in my day to hear what His calling is?

 

When I was reflecting on today’s reading I was impressed with what a tight schedule Jesus was able to keep. His job had way more travel demands than mine does (I never have to walk anywhere!). He is teaching the multitudes, instructing and equipping the few, preparing meals for over 5,000 guests, and can still make time to perform healing miracles whenever the need arises . All in a days work! Yet despite the demands being made on His time by all of the people following Him, He still made time to be in the presence of the Father and pray.

 

Matthew 14:22, 23 “Immediately Jesus made the disciples get into the boat and go ahead of him to the other side, while he dismissed the crowd. After he had dismissed them , he went up on a mountainside by himself to pray. When evening came, he was there alone”

 

What an example this is for me! When everyone, with every need known to man is pressing in on him Jesus dismissed them so He could make time for a relational conversation with God. Can I dismiss those who press into my day at work or at home so I can free up more time for Him? I need to. As it is right now Jesus gets whatever time I have left over in a day. It is hardly enough time to really invest in our relationship. Looking at the last few weeks it’s really just enough time to bear my burdens and ask for my blessing. Rather selfish and one sided isn’t it? 

 

My challenge to myself today, on the National Day of Prayer, is to dismiss some of the crowd in my life everyday so I can find a quiet mountainside and pray. Pray beyond my own needs, actually listening to Him and what He needs from me. Have a conversation with Him about my doubts, worries, concerns, joys, sorrows, and excitement. I need to begin by shutting my mouth (yikes!) and opening my eyes, my ears and my heart. Then I can see, hear and experience all that He has in store for me. Then I can know His heart, His desires and learn His ways. Maybe then I will begin to feel my burdens and stresses lessen and experience more of my blessing.


4 Comments

Filed under Bible, blog, christianity, church, faith, inspiration, Uncategorized

4 responses to “Clearing Some Time

  1. Anonymous

    RevDHW
    I believe we really begin to understand worship when we keep on worshiping, no matter what. It’s too easy to find excuses not to spend time with God — either personally, or corporately.
    “Just a closer walk” with Jesus really starts happening when we keep on walking and worshiping.
    No matter what.
    Thursday, May 7, 2009 – 06:53 PM

  2. Anonymous

    Heather
    What stuck out to me in Matthew 13 was that after the disciples asked Jesus to explain the parables to them He said, “Are you listening to this? Really listening?” (from the Message version). And that makes me think about how many times I’ve heard the gospels, but have I really been listening?
    Thursday, May 7, 2009 – 08:17 PM

  3. Anonymous

    Katy
    I’m with you Nicole I have four children 14,12,8,and 4. I work full time as well, my kids are enrolled in school of choice so we drive back and forth to two schools, along with dance, chess, scouts, theater and friend time. Needless to say we’re always on the go I think what we need to remember is to not worry about scheduling Jesus time but to incorporate our Faith and learning into everything we do and experience everyday. I was at lunch at work the other day and brought my bible so I could read and comment on the Blog. I was eating at a the smoothie/sandwich shop in the mall with a bunch of the senior citizen mall rats who I get the best mall gossip from when I pulled out my bible and laptop trying not to fall behind on my blogging. Everyone was surprised to see a bible and apologized to me for asking what I was reading. I couldn’t believe I was receiving an apology for being asked what I was reading and what denomination I was. All I was doing was incorporating my bible study into my busy day and found out just how bad things are that people don’t feel comfortable talking about religion even with a comfortable opening like a person reading the bible. I tried to talk about how great this study was and keep the conversation going but it died a quik death I can only assume because no one was comfortable talking about religion in public. It struck me as an amazing state of things.
    Saturday, May 9, 2009 – 10:27 PM

  4. Anonymous

    Jennifer
    Over the weekend I got busy with this and that and didn’t make time to read up on the bible study or check out the blog. Simply put I didn’t make time for God because I was just too busy doing other stuff. As I logged onto here today I wanted to reread some past posts and here I am faced with the fact from this post that I don’t take the time to prioritize God into my life. And why is that? Well, partly because I am a busy mom to a 1 1/2 year old, work full time and intern part time. But I always seem to make sure that I’m available to watch Americain Idol or my favorite soap. Why is that? I need to place God in front of all that other stuff because when it comes down to it He is the one that is most important. He wouldn’t push me aside to watch some television show and I shouldn’t do the same to him.
    Wednesday, May 13, 2009 – 06:38 PM

Leave a Reply

