Staying Above Water

I worked for a few years as part of a child and adolescent mental health treatment team. We worked with families who had a child with severe mental health issues which had resulted in multiple psychiatric hospitalizations. My role on the team was to work directly with parents of sick kids. This job was hands down the most challenging, rewarding, humbling, fulfilling job I have ever had. Everyday I would meet with parents who felt at the end of their rope. They were at their wits end trying to help their child who had lost control of his or her body and mind and were doing things to harm themselves. What a helpless and hopeless feeling. I was thinking about this experience as I read about the demon possessed boy in Matthew 17.

 

Matthew 17:14-16 “When they came to the crowd, a man approached Jesus and knelt before him. ‘Lord have mercy on my son,’ he said, ‘He has seizers [lunacy in the NASB] and is suffering greatly. He often falls in the fire or the water. I brought him to your disciples, but they could not heal him.”

 

It is not fun watching someone you love being tossed about in a mind altering, self harming, out of control experience. Unfortunately, this condition is so common that I think we can all relate, I know I can. In fact, sometimes the out of control person is me. 

 

In the passage the father humbly approaches Jesus, on his knees, seeking mercy and compassion for his hurting boy. He tells Jesus that his child is suffering greatly from either seizures (NIV), lunacy (NASB), or both. Whatever the condition it is safe to say that the son was no longer in control of his mind, body or actions and that the father is sharing deeply in his son’s pain. Heartbreaking. 

 

Then the father describes the suffering…He often falls in the fire or the water. This child is both burning himself and drowning. How many times have I been near something that I knew would burn me but felt an over powering, out of control desire to fall into fiery temptation despite the pain it would cause? Lots (Maybe some day I will share the 1992-1996 highlight reel with you…scary). How often have I found myself in deep, dark, overwhelming situations where I felt like I was uncontrollably sinking or drowning in indecision or bad decisions or heartache? How often have I found myself gasping for air in water over my head? 

 

I have “fallen into the fire or the water” and needed to beg Jesus for his healing mercy to rescue me from myself many, many times.

 

So here’s the application. In verse 16 the father says that he brought the son to the disciples and they could not heal him. I will admit that when I am in serious fire and water type situations I frequently turn to other people or systems for healing or to help me regain control. These systems and people aren’t necessarily bad, in fact they are often very good. Things like support groups, therapists, praying friends, spiritual advisors, diet programs, concerned friends or family members. All of these are good resources for help or support but they are not the source of my healing. I need to start using these people and systems to avoid the fire and water hurts in my life and immediately go to Jesus FIRST, on my knees, if I happen to fall in. 

2 Comments

Filed under Bible, blog, christianity, church, faith, inspiration, Uncategorized

2 responses to “Staying Above Water

  1. Anonymous

    RevDHW
    I can’t get the end of your comment — there’s nothing after “read more.” But what I can read is powerful. Being able to put yourself into the Scripture passage is a legitimate way to understand it. You’ve been where this boys parents are; you’ve been like one the dispiples standiing by, wanting to help but not able to do everything necessary to alleviate the situation.
    Ultimately what an encouraging passage, because what a difference Jesus makes! There is a subtext though — in Jesus’ opinion, the disicples should have been able to handle this in his absence. The problem was “little faith.”
    “Big faith” is what I want to have; Lord, help Thou my unbelief!
    Friday, May 15, 2009 – 11:01 AM

  2. Anonymous

    Katy
    I love that Jesus says we should all be like children that they are the greatest in the kingdom of heaven. If you have ever talked to a small child who has not had their faith disturbed by the world it is an amazing thing. They throw themselves into everything they believe with a fierce determination.

    I also identify with 18:19 And I tell you more:whenever two of you on earth agree about anything you pray for, it will be done for you by my father in Heaven. For where two or three come together in my name, I am there with them.
    Friday, May 15, 2009 – 11:03 AM

Leave a Reply

