Unprepared

So, I’m still working through The 40 Day Challenge (reading the 4 Gospels in 40 days) and have been stuck on Matthew Chapters 23-25 for a couple of days now. I haven’t wanted to move on until I had totally digested whatever it is that God is trying to get me to swallow. Here’s where I have been most hung up: 

 

Matthew 24:36-39  36“No one knows about that day or hour, not even the angels in heaven, nor the Son, but only the Father. 37As it was in the days of Noah, so it will be at the coming of the Son of Man. 38For in the days before the flood, people were eating and drinking, marrying and giving in marriage, up to the day Noah entered the ark; 39and they knew nothing about what would happen until the flood came and took them all away. That is how it will be at the coming of the Son of Man.

I like to think that being a Christian for 16 years qualifies me for being ready. But am I really? Or am I more like those in the days before the flood. I hate to admit it, but if I’m being honest I’m closer to the latter. 

 

With this thought in mind, before I put this post up I decided to track how many of the 10 commandments I bust in a day. Not pretty. Here’s what I have learned about myself yesterday: I still have many, many false idols and a few gods before Him (most involve work); speaking the Lord’s name in vain continues to be a problem; while I am not a liar my truth does have a rather taffy-like consistency; I covet much (co-worker got new SAAB convertible and I drooled); and finally while no actual murders were committed several were plotted with alarming amounts of detail.

 

“The people were eating and drinking, marrying and giving into marriage” v.38 has really challenged me. While I am no longer a party girl, I do move through life feeling pretty comfortable and enjoying the finer things (eating and drinking). And I spend a lot of time focused on horizontal relationships with family members, friends and coworkers (marrying and giving into marriage). My challenge the last couple of days has been to become a bit less comfortable, a lot more alert, and to make sure that I am keeping the inside of my cup as clean as the outside (Matthew 23:25,26). 

 

Thankfully, yesterday was not the day of the coming of the Son of Man. And thankfully today wasn’t either. Until then I will continue to keep asking Him to perfect in me the work that He has generously started and will pray for enough grace to cover what is still undone. 

 

What are your thoughts on Matthew 23-25? Leave a comment! 

 

Tomorrow I will be reading Matthew 26-28.

4 Comments

Filed under Bible, blog, born again, christian living, christianity, church, Evangelical, faith, God, inspiration, Jesus, Matthew, Uncategorized, worship

4 responses to “Unprepared

  1. I can read this site. Thanks for switching. Otherwise we would all have to get Macs.
    I admire your personal application of the “days of Noah” scenario. To be honest, I just usually figure its the “other guys” who aren’t ready. But you’ve hit the real point of the passage. It’s supposed to make us think about whether or not we’re ready.
    I’m thinking of the good old Larry Norman song, “I wish we’d all been ready. . .”
    You’re too young to know Larry Norman, I would guess. He was a major contemporary Christian music guy back in the 70’s — the Jesus People era.

  2. Katy

    It’s amazing that even with the warnings in the bible of all we will encounter before judgement day we still don’t listen. Many of these have occured and we still don’t believe. I think all would benefit it taking the challenge you took. We should all step back and see how many commandments we break in any given day. I think it would be an eye opener to see what our results would be. Think I’ll try it!

  3. tberrys

    Wow, I admire you for your honesty. That’s step one that we all must take to having a closer walk with God. The more we read Gods word the more we can see of our flaws, mistakes, do’s and don’ts (Sin). I know it holds true with me. The bible convicts us if we will just read it, let it speak to us. Believe me if we read Gods word everyday and live by it, seek his guidance and prayer. It says we will make it. From the heart here with my own true experience, I’m no Mrs perfect here, by no means. I constantly have to stay in Gods word everyday. I like you stumble, get stuck on understanding all the scripture I read. When I press on such as “seek and ye shall find”. In Matthew 24:39-42. The observation that the people of Noah’s day knew not the severity and suddenness of the coming destruction indicates that this last generation will be totally unprepared for the coming of the Son of Man, the return of Christ to judge the world. (see 2 Thess. 1:7, 8) The reference to two being in the field or at work at the time of Christ’s return implies the suddeness of His coming to separate the lost and the saved.
    The last generation I believe thats us. Only God knows all our mistakes (sin) and can take that same sin away so quickly. We take away our sin by repenting. Some of us might have to repent more often than others. I pray for us all at heart to get the want to, “to live by Gods word and be that Christian Soldier with his word engraved in our hearts. ” Like you I have to do a self check and stand firm no lukewarm or waivering ?’s or answers. I ask God to help me to understand his way(see Psalm 119:25-40). Let’s you and I keep the Good work up. Let’s Be Ready!
    Thanks for the Bible Study.
    In Gods Love TBerry

  4. Heather

    I find it easy to list all the things that I do wrong, but I noticed how in Matthew 23 Jesus also warned of thinking to highly of yourself. I especially liked verses 11-12 “Do you want to stand out? Then step down. Be a servant. If you puff yourself up, you’ll get the wind knocked out of you. But if you’re content to simply be yourself, your life will count for plenty.”

Leave a Reply

